Getting back to it

Blink, blink… I feel like I have been delinquent in my postings, sleeping at the universal wheel. I am sorry for that – not really apologetic because I have had my reasons for not posting – but I have missed my weekly hour of self expression.

Finally we have emerged from the blah of winter, the overwhelming whiteness of it all, the abbreviated days and the extended night. Finally we are feeling the radiant warmth of the all-giving sun. Plants are relishing the chance to flex the power of their chlorophyl, the ability to dig roots deep into the no-longer-frozen ground. Ahhhh, the chance to wear sandals again!!

So, getting back to it all. Here are some photos from this Memorial Day’s festivites near our house. I took the majority of them as an assignment for a class that I am taking now, so we will see what the critique is next week.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

My assignment is/was to photograph people, and the ceremony and parade seemed the perfect opportunity. I like that this tells a story (open to personal interpretation, of course), but I wish that I had been a bit further back and had not cut off his feet.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

I don’t see much of the “rebel” in his roost here, but this guy was so serious – refusing to wave at the crowd – and I very much admired his resolute stance and attention to duty that I just had to post him.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Finally, this little guy is the “marcher in charge” each year, pacing the sidewalk with his grandmother, waving his flag in time with the thump-thump of the tubas in the little marching band. I like the perspective of this shot, although I would prefer to angle it a bit more to the left to crop out some of the by-stander knees.

Leave a Reply

