petals to accompany my roots

Spring. Ha, I said it. It is finally here – even if it did snow today –  and even this bloody New England winter that we have all been suffering through this year cannot dim the hope that emerging blooms bring. Yesterday, I played in the yard for the first time in 2009; I raked to the point that my arms burned, I knelt to pick scattered leaves from my emerging garden, I wound up with dirt under my nails – and I loved every minute of it.

I welcomed old friends back for another go-round – Iris, Crocus, Geranium, Daffodil, Columbine, and others – and started to reform the boundaries of both the garden and, in turn, my life. A professor that I had in grad school used a wonderful analogy to describe our challenge for learning about life. He stated that he might be an old man, but that he was a young gardener – always learning and finding novelty in the garden around him. He extrapolated this to life in general as a vivid metaphor for learning about humanity and experiences effecting our growth. Now, as I welcome a new year into both my life and that of my garden, I think about the meaning of his words and hope that I will make a renewed effort to welcome and accept new ideas, thoughts and ways-of-being into my life.

Some images below are from Birthday flowers  – they are all so beautiful that I wanted to share them with everyone as a “Thank you” to those who sent them!

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

 

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

 

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

2 Responses to “petals to accompany my roots”

  1. Ah Spring! I can smell it. We’re on heartbreak hill here, folks, but the finish line is in sight! Beautiful images that I needed this morning.

  2. How many heartbreak hills are there? Sigh. Thanks for the pictures CeCe…I can hardly take this anymore.

Leave a Reply

