Roots

As a friend of mine recently wrote, “on the eve of my 31st birthday, it’s time to think about growing up a bit.” (Thanks Jess!) Well, I am next in line for this happy event, and so I returned to my childhood stomping grounds this weekend to celebrate and reflect. The following photos represent different aspects of my roots.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

The last snow of the year always seems to come right around my birthday. One year, we had planned an outdoor birthday party and almost a foot of snow fell the night before. I was so worried that no one would come, but everyone did come, however, and  I remember it as one of my happiest parties. In fact, it always seems to precipitate on my day – even when I was in Turks and Caicos on my 22nd brithday it rained (the only day during the whole week!) but we celebrated with others on our conch tour, all toasting my birthday while huddling together on a tiny boat.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved

Pets have always been a huge influence in my life – from Boots and Tacky, through Sweeter, Domino, Honey, Gus, Soupy, Fred, Chaps, Rhona, Oliver, Stashie and Elsa – and poor Oliver is my most common photo ‘victim’ nowadays. I’m pretty sure that I can count on Ollie to help me finish a big slice of cake this week!

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved

Lastly this week, I found this broken fence in an unlikely place, but was struck by the measures taken to keep it together over the passing years; rusty nails and scratched posts reveal trial – but mostly error – measures to mend the sticks back together. Interesting metaphors for life in general, especially facing the start of a new trip around the sun.

2 Responses to “Roots”

  1. I often feel like that fence, and that makes me love that picture even more. Here’s to hanging in there another year!! Early Happy Birthday!

  2. … and I do believe I remember that long-ago snow covered birthday of yours! Hope this next one brings kinder weather but just as much fun.

    P.S. thanks for your earlier post of seashells and sand dunes that gave us a welcome glimpse of summer to come. Beautiful photos and I loved your commentary accompanying the “PRIVATE” photo.

Leave a Reply

