Howling at the Moon

AAAAARRRRRROOOOOOOOO!

Any good excuse to howl at the moon is fine by me (and Oliver), and so driving toward home this past Monday night, the truck bathed in light from nose to tailgate, I was seriously inspired to try my hand at lunar photography. This is something that I have wanted to try for quite a while – I would especially like to capture a summer full moon over our pond – and now that I have some much needed equipment (thanks Mom and Eric!!) it was fun to research and experiment.

Some successful notes: Once I figured it out, the remote shutter trigger was great and kept my slipping in the snow from altering the focus in the photos. Being away from city lights helped to keep the moon bright. I found my manual focus was my friend, especially since the auto-focus could not decide on a layer for focus.

Some not-so-successful notes: I need a taller tripod – the one that I was using was super for angling for up-shots, but I would have liked to try something up higher. Clouds ended up obscuring the light of the moon because I had to spend about an hour figuring out how to use my remote and where to set up for the shots. I was really disappointed that I was not able to capture the moon that had attracted my howl, but give me another lunar cycle and I will try again!

Oh, and stay tuned for that moon-over-pond shot sometime this summer!

copyright 2009 C. Brotchie-Fine. All Rights Reserved
copyright 2009 C. Brotchie-Fine. All Rights Reserved

I like the angle and brightness of the moon in this photo above. I was unable to find an angle that was free of branches, so these all have a Halloween-aura about them.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.

I am not such a fan of the location of the moon in this photo compared to the first. However, I like the bright spot in the center.

Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2009, C. Brotchie-Fine. All rights reserved.
I think that I like this best out of the three. The way that the moon hangs in the photo balances the dark of the branch that looks like it is almost holding the moon in the sky. This photo also had the longest exposure of them all, and I think that helped to make it crisper and make the light brighter.
4 Responses to “Howling at the Moon”

  1. Wow – Those came out great!
    Good job

    E

  2. I love these!!! They look a little like the back of my retina, which is super cool! 🙂 This first one is just crying out for a werewolf! Good luck moon chasing.

  3. You photo geek! I love them =) You might just get me out there with you! Farm needs some photo marketing!

  4. eerie and awesome and I like the first one best (appeals to my dark side) though I concede the third one is the best aesthetically. Your narratives are appreciated nearly as much as your photos. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

